you're reading...
FORMER TITLEHOLDERS, UNIVERSE

Alicia Machado Plays An Obese on a Miami Play

Former Miss Universe, Alicia Machado, is set to play the lead role of ‘Vicky’ in a play entitled Mi Amiga La Gorda” (My Fat Friend). The play is slated to open tomorrow, 25th of May, in Trail Theater in Miami, Florida.

The stage play is about the life story of a morbidly obese (600 pounds) woman  who is inherently good with a sense of humour named ‘Vicky’.

Interestingly, the role of Vicki who is discriminated because of her weight mirrors the life of the former beauty queen when she was almost stripped-off her crown when she gained weight during her reign. In an interview about the play, she said: “For me this project is not only an acting challenge, but I play some things that I experienced firsthand, such as discrimination on the weight, to attack, making fun of, I know the feeling, now I haveput on a play.”

Since winning the coveted title in 1996, Miss Machado started her acting career and has been in the celebrity limelight ever since. She even bagged a spot as one of the ‘Mas Bellos’ (Most Beautiful People) in 2012 in the annual People en Español Magazine’s list.

About blueblack2010

I am health manager by profession whose interests range from travelling to sports, from shopping to fashion; and from beauty pageants to science and politics. Web blogging has been an outlet for me to express my feelings, ideas and thoughts to issues that surround us. Most of the topics will be concerning my interests. Everyone is free to comment and suggest to these blogs.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other subscribers
Map