you're reading...
FORMER TITLEHOLDERS, UNIVERSE

Alicia Machado Makes it to People’s ‘Mas Bellos’

L-R: Alicia Machado, Gaby Espino, Charytin

Former beauty queen, Alicia Machado, is named one of the most beautiful in 2012 by the Spanish edition of the People’s Magazine. Surprisingly, she is is the only former pageant queen that entered the list that comprises well-known, international stars like Ricky Martin,  Zoe Saldana,  Penelope Cruz, Sofia Vergara and Salma Hayek.  

L-R: Zoe Saldana, Ricky Martin and Thalia

Miss Machado won the Miss Universe title in 1996 held at the Theatre of the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, Nevada. She almost lost her crown when she gained tremendous weight during her reign, which made a lot of controversy during that time. The controversial issue was then made a final question during the succeeding Miss Universe, wherein Brooke Lee of the United States of America convincingly won when she replied “I think I would take a good hard look at myself, and I’d look from the inside out, and I’d know that I was the same girl that was crowned that day and it really didn’t matter what I look like on the outside because I won for what I was in here [points to her heart as a sign of courage]. So if I go up, I go down, I get taller, I get shorter, my nose is bigger or smaller, I’m still who I was when that crown was on my head and I’m a good representative no matter what.”

Currently, Miss Machado is busy with her acting career and is reported to portray a morbid obese in a theatre play entitled ‘Mi amiga la gorda‘ ( My Friend The Fat) in Miami.

About blueblack2010

I am health manager by profession whose interests range from travelling to sports, from shopping to fashion; and from beauty pageants to science and politics. Web blogging has been an outlet for me to express my feelings, ideas and thoughts to issues that surround us. Most of the topics will be concerning my interests. Everyone is free to comment and suggest to these blogs.

Discussion

One thought on “Alicia Machado Makes it to People’s ‘Mas Bellos’

  1. DAYANARA TORRES, MISS UNIVERSE 1993, WAS IN THAT LIST IN 2 YEARS….2005 (SHE WAS IN THE MAIN COVER) AND 2008.

    Posted by Charlie | May 15, 2012, 6:52 am

Leave a Reply

